Wissenschaftsforum Ultracold atomic gases are, in a growing number of experiments, driven in a controlled way out of thermal equilibrium and allow new exciting insight into the dynamics of many-body quantum systems. At the same time increasing interest arises in mutual exchange with other areas such as solid-state and high-energy physics. Following successful conferences held in Sandbjerg, Denmark in 2007 and in Durham, UK in 2009, the aim of the workshop is to bring together international experts on nonequilibrium time evolution, transport in strongly correlated hydrodynamic systems as well as transport and quantum dynamics in lattice systems. The workshop will take place at the Internationales Wissenschaftsforum Heidelberg, situated in the old town of Heidelberg at the foot of the castle hill, from 18. to 21. September 2011.

Further information about the aims of the workshop.

We sadly received the news that Allan Griffin passed away on 19 May 2011. We will all miss him.
Allan Griffin, Professor of Physics at the University of Toronto, Canada, was one of the founders of this conference series.

List of confirmed speakers:

Vanderlei Bagnato (Universidade Federal de Sao Carlos, Brazil)
Gordon Baym (University of Illinois, USA)
Natalia Berloff (University of Cambridge, UK)
Ulf Bissbort (Universität Frankfurt, Germany)
Ashton Bradley (University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand)
Aurel Bulgac (University of Washington, Seattle, USA)
Luca D'Alessio (Boston University, USA)
Andrew Daley (Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck, Austria)
Matthew Davis (University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia)
Sergej Demokritov (Universität Münster, Germany)
Piotr Deuar (Polish Academy of Sciences, Warszawa, Poland)
Alexey Filinov (Universität Kiel, Germany)
Michael Fleischhauer (Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Crispin Gardiner (University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand)
Simon Gardiner (University of Durham, UK)
Lukas Gilz (Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Allan Griffin † (University of Toronto, Canada)
Giorgio Krstulovic (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, Nice, France)
Stephan Mandt (Universität Köln, Germany)
Boris Nowak (Universität Heidelberg, Germany)
Axel Pelster (Universität Bielefeld, Germany)
Dario Poletti (Université de Genève, Switzerland)
Nick Proukakis (University of Newcastle, UK)
Ana Maria Rey (University of Colorado, Boulder, USA)
Janne Ruostekoski (University of Southampton, UK)
Luis Santos (Universität Hannover, Germany)
Thomas Schäfer (North Carolina State University, Raleigh, USA)
Jörg Schmiedmayer (Technische Universität Wien, Austria)
Ralf Schützhold (Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Robin Scott (Università di Trento, Italy)
Michiel Snoek (Universiteit van Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Eugene Zaremba (Queen's University, Kingston, Canada)
Wojciech Zurek (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)

International Scientific Advisory Committee

Organizing Committee

  • James Anglin (Fachbereich Physik, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern )
  • Thomas Gasenzer (Institut für Theoretische Physik, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)
  • Walter Hofstetter (Institut für Theoretische Physik, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt)
  • Reinhold Walser (Institut für Angewandte Physik, Technische Universität Darmstadt)