Advanced Seminar on Condensed Matter Physics

Wintersemester 2017/2018

gehe zu Sommersemester 2017   gehe zu Sommersemester 2018
URL zum ICS-Kalender dieses Seminars

KIP SR 01.404
freitags 11:15

13.10.2017 11:15
Tom Wickenhäuser, Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University
KIP SB 01.107
25.10.2017 14:15
Apl. Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Erwin Schuberth, Physikdepartment, Technische Universität München
KIP SR 02.404
3.11.2017 11:15
Daniel Hengstler, Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University
KIP SR 01.404
24.11.2017 11:15
Dr. Frank Deppe, Walther-Meißner-Institut , Munich
KIP SR 01.404

Since the turn of the millennium, micro- and nanoscale superconducting circuits have evolved from a playground for solid-state physicists dreaming about quantum mechanics into a serious candidate for quantum information processing, simulation, communication and sensing. After an introduction into the fundamentals and state of the art of the field, I present an overview over the related activities at the WMI. Specifically, I discuss two recent experiments. In one of them, we use the flexibility of superconducting circuits to create an artificial atom with a dipole and a quadrupole moment and some kind of artificial orbital momentum. Using a pair of antennas for excitation, we engineer the interaction parity and observe the corresponding selection rules. In the second work, we employ the multimode structure of a highly-coherent 3D cavity architecture to implement a compact and scalable quantum memory.

We acknowledge financial support from the German Research Foundation through FE 1564/1-1 and the Excellence Cluster Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM), the doctorate program ExQM of the Elite Network of Bavaria, and the International Max Planck Research School ”Quantum Science and Technology“.

1.12.2017 11:15
Dr. Ronny Stolz, Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology, Jena
KIP SR 01.404
8.12.2017 11:15
Andreas Reifenberger, Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University
KIP SR 01.404
15.12.2017 11:15
Dr. Klaus Eitel, Institute for Nuclear Physics (IKP), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
KIP SR 01.404
19.1.2018 11:15
Christine Claessens, Institut für Physik Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
KIP SR 01.404
zum Seitenanfang