Potassium BEC

  • 2D Bose-Einstein condensate of Potassium-39
  • Tunable interactions and configurable density
  • Quantum simulation and non-equilibrium dynamics

The BECK experiment is a 2D Bose-Einstein condensate of potassium-39. Our experiment features tunable interactions between atoms, as well as a configurable background density distribution of the condensate. The superb control over experimental parameters enables us to study many-body quantum dynamics far from equilibrium. We also quantum simulate analogous physical systems that are difficult to investigate experimentally, such as the dynamics of the early universe.

Your project at our experiment could include:

  •  BECs and quantum dynamics
  • Optics
  • Electronics
  • Programming

No prior lab experience is necessary!

The Team

Yannick Deller
Phone: +49 6221 54 5178
Room: 02.311 
yannick.deller@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Maurus Hans
Phone: +49 6221 54 5177
Room: 02.321 
mhans@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Luise Heiland
Phone: +49 6221 54 5178
Room: 02.311 
luise.heiland@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Joris Hoffmann
Phone: +49 6221 54 5188
Room: 99.211 
joris.hoffmann@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Elinor Kath
Phone: +49 6221 54 5177
Room: 02.321 
elinor.kath@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Stefan Lannig
Phone: +49 6221 54 5178
Room: 02.311 
stefan.lannig@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Nikolas Liebster
Phone: +49 6221 54 5177
Room: 02.321 
nikolas.liebster@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Marius Sparn
Phone: +49 6221 54 5177
Room: 02.321 
marius.sparn@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Helmut Strobel
Phone: +49 6221 54 9276
Room: 02.312 
helmut.strobel@kip.uni-heidelberg.de


Collaborations

Publications