Prof. Dr. Laura Na Liu

Researcher ID: C-8190-2014

Google Scholar: Link

Professor, Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University

Associate Editor, Science Advances (AAAS)

Editorial Advisory Board, ACS Photonics (ACS)
Editorial Advisory Board, JPhys Photonics (IOPscience)



Kirchhoff-Institute for Physics
Im Neuenheimer Feld 227
D-69120 Heidelberg

Phone:  +49 6221 54-9851
Fax:      +49 6221 54-9859





Academic Training and Employment

  • Professor, Kirchhoff Institute of Physics, University of Heidelberg, Germany
  • Group Leader, The Max-Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Germany
  • Visiting Professor, Rice University, USA
  • Postdoc, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Ph. D., Physics, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • M.S., Physics, The Hongkong University of Science and Technology, Hongkong
  • B.S. Physics, Jilin University, China

Honors and Awards

2019                   EU-40 Materials Prize (E-MRS)

2019                   The Nano Letters Young Investigator Lectureship Award (ACS)

2019-2021          Fellow of the Max Planck School Matter to Life

2019                   Adolph Lomb Medal (OSA)

2019                   Rising Researcher Award (SPIE)

2018                   Annual Research Prize of University of Heidelberg

2018                   Rudolf-Kaiser Prize

2018                   Highly Cited Researcher (Web of Science)

2018                   The Kavli Foundation Early Career Award in Materials Science (MRS)

2018                   The IUMRS – MRS Singapore Young Researcher Award Finalist

2016                   IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics from the International Commission for Optics (ICO)

2015                   Light2015 Young Woman in Photonics Award of the European Optical Society (EOS)

2014                   European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant Award

2014                   Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

2013                   Elisabeth Schiemann-Kolleg of the Max Planck Society (MPG)

2012                   Marie Curie CIG Fellowship

2012                   Sofja Kovalevskaja Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH)

2011                   Nanowissenschaftspreis AGENT-D

2010                   Hertha-Sponer Prize of the German Physical Society (DPG)

2010                   Dissertationspreis der Freunde der Universität Stuttgart

2008                   Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Abroad