Get Adobe Flash player

SMI = Spatially Modulated Illumination

General:

SMI microscope. The SMI microscopy is a new light-optical procedure using so-called POINT Spread Function engineering methods. Its procedures are those which modify the point image function (POINT Spread Function, PSF) of a microscope in an appropriate way, in order to either increase the optical resolution, to maximize the precision of distance measurements at punctiform objects (i.e. fluorescent objects which are small in comparison to the wavelength), or to extract other structural parameters in the nanometer regime. With the SMI microscope presently developed at Kirchhoff Kirchhoff-Institut for physics, this is accomplished by the fact that the illumination intensity is not homogeneous in the object area; in contrast to conventional Epifluoreszenz microscopes is spatially modulated. Two laser beams propagating in opposite directions and interfering in axial direction (see illustration right) are used to set up a standing wave field with intensity modulation along the optical axis. The principle of spatially modulated wavefield has been developed in 1993 by Bailey et al. In the SMI microscopy approach at Heidelberg, the object is moved in highly precise steps through the wave field. From this an increase in the axial size- and distance-resolution is gained.


 


Motivation. An operational area of the SMI microscope is the analysis of biological nano-structures and/or the nuclear structure of cells. Here, size and distance measurements in the nano-regime (<~100nm) are highly important. These investigations are based predominantly on distance measurements of punctiform objects e.g. specific chromosome regions. In combination with new fluorescence labeling methods (co-operation with Institutes of Physical Chemistryl and Anorganic Chemistry of the University of Heidelberg) the SMI microscopy will permit non-contact far field-light-microscopic structure investigations down to the molecular level. Thus, a resolution equivalent will be reached competing with those of the atomic force microscopy (AFM), which optical near field microscopy (Scanning Near field Optical Microscopy, SNOM) and related surface methods. Contrary to these however the method can be used to acquire information on the inside of objects.   

Example of use. Investigations at nuclei of bone marrow stem cells showed relations between the three-dimensional (3D-)structure of the chromosomal configuration and the disease aberations known from chronic myeloid leukaemia. In particular a connection between the distance between the chromosome #9 and #22 and the occurrence of a translocation of the ABL region of chromosome #9 to the BCR region of chromosome #22 is assumed. From these translocations, the so-called Philadelphia-chromosome is fused, whose presence correlates closely with the disease specified above. Within the research group "applied optics and information processing", these investigations represent only one example of medical-biophysical research in which the accurate measurement of the distances between chromosomes and/or between chromosome regions are of great importance(SPDM, spectral precision distance microscopy).

Other examples are  the size measurement of specific gene domains e.g. the p53 gene region. (The p53 gene is of high relevance in tumor biology ;Hildenbrand et al. 2005); size determination of telomeric regions in interphase nuclei (Reymann et al. 2008); or combination with localization microscopy (SPDM to generate 3D images of cellular nanostructures with an optical 3D resolution around 40 - 50 nm (Lemmer et al. 2008).

Further information see list of publications

Get Adobe Flash player

SMI = Spatially Modulated Illumination (Räumlich Modulierte Beleuchtung)

Allgemeines:

SMI Mikroskop. Die SMI-Mikroskopie ist ein neuartiges lichtoptisches Verfahren des sogenannten Point Spread Function-Engineering. Darunter sind Verfahren zu verstehen, die die Punktbild-Funktion (Point Spread Function, PSF) eines Mikroskops in geeigneter Weise modifizieren, um entweder die optische Auflösung zu erhöhen, die Präzision von Distanzmessungen an punktförmigen, d.h. im Vergleich zur Wellenlänge kleinen fluoreszierenden Objekten zu maximieren, oder andere Strukturparameter im Nanometerbereich zu extrahieren. Beim gegenwärtig am Kirchhoff-Institut für Physik entwickelten SMI-Mikroskop wird dies dadurch erreicht, dass die Anregungsintensität im Objektraum im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Weitfeldfluoreszenz-Mikroskopen nicht homogen ist, sondern durch Verwendung zweier gegenläufiger, interferierender Laserstrahlen in axialer Richtung räumlich moduliert wird (siehe Abbildung rechts). Das Prinzip des räumlich modulierten Wellenfeldes wurde 1993 von Bailey et al. entwickelt. Bei dem Heidelberger SMI Mikroskopieansatz wird das Objekt in hochpräzisen Schritten durch das Wellenfeld bewegt. Daraus resultiert eine Erhöhung der axialen Größen- und Distanzauflösung.
 

Motivation. Ein Einsatzgebiet des SMI-Mikroskops besteht in der Analyse von biologischen Nanostrukturen bzw. der Kernstruktur von Zellen. Hierbei sind Größen- und Distanzmessungen im Nanobereich (<~100nm) von großer Bedeutung. In Verbindung mit neuen Fluoreszenz-Markierungsmethoden (Zusammenarbeit mit Physikalisch Chemischen Institut und Anorganisch Chemischen Institut der Universität Heidelberg) wird die SMI-Mikroskopie berührungsfreie fernfeld-lichtmikroskopische Strukturuntersuchungen bis hinunter zur makro-molekularen Ebene erlauben. Damit wird ein Struktureinzelheiten zugänglich, die derjenigen der atomaren Kraftmikroskopie (Atomic Force Microscopy, AFM), der optischen Nahfeld-Mikroskopie (Scanning Near field Optical Microscopy, SNOM) und verwandten Oberflächen-Methoden entsprechen, im Gegensatz zu diesen jedoch auch zur Informationsgewinnung im Inneren von Objekten angewandt werden kann.

Anwendungsbeispiel. Untersuchungen an Kernen von Knochenmark-Stammzellen zeigten Relationen zwischen der dreidimensionalen (3D-)Struktur der Chromosomenkonfiguration und dem Krankheitsbild der chronisch myeloischen Leukämie. Insbesondere wird ein Zusammenhang zwischen dem Abstand zwischen den Chromosomen #9 und #22 und dem Auftreten einer Translokation der ABL-Region von Chromosom #9 an die BCR-Region von Chromosom #22 vermutet. Aus dieser Translokation resultiert die Bildung des sog. Philadelphia-Chromosoms, dessen Vorhandensein eng mit dem oben genannten Krankheitsbild korreliert. Diese im Forschungsbereich "Angewandte Optik und Informationsverarbeitung" durchgeführten Untersuchungen stellen nur ein Beispiel für medizinisch-biophysikalische Forschungen dar, in denen die exakte Messung der Abstände zwischen Chromosomen bzw. zwischen Regionen auf diesen Chromosomen von großer Bedeutung sind (SPDM, Spektrale Präzisions-Distanzmikroskopie).

  Weitere Beispiele betreffen die Vermessung der Größe einzelner Gendomänen, z.B. der p53 Genregion (Das p53 Gen ist von entscheidender Bedeutung in der Tumorbiologie; Hildenbrand et al. 2005); der Größe von Telomerregionen (Reymann et al. 2008); oder der Kombination von SPDM und SMI Mikroskopie zur Gewinnung von 3D Bildern von zellulären Nanostrukturen mit einer Auflösung von ca. 40 - 50 nm (Lemmer et al. 2008).

Weitere Informationen siehe Publikationsliste